Review: Cat Got Your Diamonds by Julie Chase

Cat Got Your Diamonds by Julie Chase

Synopsis and Details:

Grandeur and opulence are everything in the famed New Orleans Garden District where pets are family and no bling is too big. Opening Furry Godmother, pet boutique and organic treat bakery, is Lacy Marie Crocker’s dream come true–until the glitter gun used to make her Shih Tzu tutus becomes a murder weapon. And Lacy becomes public enemy #1.

Now Detective Jack Oliver is hounding Lacy, and her Furry Godmother investor wants out before his name is tarnished by association. To make matters worse, a string of jewel heists with suspicious ties to the murder case has New Orleans residents on edge. To save her dream, Lacy must take a stand, put her keen eyes to work, and unravel what really happened at her shop that night. But can Lacy sniff out the killer cat burglar in time to get her tail-raising designs on the catwalk?

Witty and whimsical, Cat Got Your Diamonds, the first in a new cozy series by Julie Chase, will be the cat’s meow for fans of Rita Mae Brown and Miranda James.

Series: Kitty Couture Mystery #1  |  Genres: Contemporary, Cozy Mystery  |  Release Date: November 08, 2016  |  Publisher: Crooked Lane Books  |  Length:  330 pages  |  ISBN: 978-1629538426  |  ASIN: B01NBIE2Z5  |  Format: Hardcover  |  Source:  Purchased

Review with Rating:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I had picked up Cat Got Your Diamonds a few months ago because it had a cute title and cover as well as the fact that I do enjoy a good cozy mystery. The plot of this story was nicely done and I will admit that I have binge read the entire series, Kitty Couture Mystery, by this point. I just adored the main characters and the setting had all the flair of New Orleans that I love, not to mention that the mystery in each book was very entertaining. 

What really drew me into Cat Got Your Diamonds was Lacy Marie Crocker. She was a great character who was truly committed to following her dreams and desires, hilarious in her own unique ways, and even slightly outrageous. Her entire life had been mapped out for her but with a change of heart, she knew it was all wrong and decided to return home but that decision had come with many mixed feelings. Despite setbacks, Lacy was following her dreams until a murder took place that cast her in a suspicious light and worse was that it brought Detective Jack Oliver into her life.

Jack was nothing short of a pain and he gave Lacy constant trouble. He frustrated me time and time again but, when it counted, he always seemed to be looking out for Lacy. There also were many moments where things looked like they would change between him and Lacy but Jack is Jack, a more standoffish character I do not know. I couldn’t decide if I truly liked his character (of course I know how I feel now having read the series but I won’t spoil it) but it’s weird because I respect his character. Which is also weird because, um hello, this story is fiction! Ha ha ha

If you are looking for a good cozy mystery series starter that has all the pomp and circumstance that comes with a setting of New Orleans, then Cat Got Your Diamonds is a story you will love. If you love a good mystery that has two characters who seem right for each other but can’t see what is simmering between them, then this is also a story for you. If you just want a story that will amuse you and has some seriously cute furry sidekicks, then here you go – this is the perfect story for you. Overall, there is no going wrong with reading Cat Got Your Diamonds and I would highly recommend this adorable story and series to you!

Goodreads Icon

🖋 ❤️ ✒️

About the Author:

Author Julie Chase

Julie Chase is a mystery-loving pet enthusiast who hopes to make readers smile. She lives in rural Ohio with her husband and three spunky children. Julie is a member of the International Thriller Writers (ITW), Romance Writers of America (RWA), and Sisters in Crime (SinC). She is represented by Jill Marsal of Marsal Lyon Literary Agency.

Julie also writes as Julie Anne Lindsey. Learn more about Julie Anne Lindsey here.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads


Cat Got Your Diamonds Julie Chase

Processing…
Success! You're on the list. You will receive an email weekly updating you on all that has taken place on this blog.


Categories: Review

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: